IAS Officer Training

Feb 15 • IAS, UPSC • 5098 Views • No Comments on IAS Officer Training

UPSC stands for union public service commission and it’s responsible for selecting deserving candidates for the various Civil service posts which include IAS, IPS, and IFS, 24 others Civil services, and this exam splits into three phases which are Preliminary exam, Mains exam and the personal interview. After clearing this exam what will happen to those you all will get to know about their further journey through this article:- (IAS Officer Training)

Majorly the responsibility of an IAS officer is to handle all the government affairs in India. This training session involves the framing and implementation of the policy. An IAS officer basically represents the government of India internationally. Even the IAS officers are authorized to sign agreements on the behalf of the government of  India. IAS officers also have to handle the district affairs which includes all the development functions.

IAS training session is the first step an IAS officer take to convert their dream into reality. IAS training is often known or filled with exhilarating, exciting and fulfilling. IAS training also involves self- actualization.

This training session is combined training for all officer like



IFS (Indian Forest Services) and other central services.

All the officers will undergo a 3 months foundation training at LBSNAA which stands for(Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration). The main objective of this training session is to develop a basic understanding of the



Socio-economicand legal framework of the country(India). Another motive is to foster cooperation among members of different public services.

The first tour is Bharat Darshan basically a study tour, it’s a training to enjoy the magnificence and rich diversity of a continental nation. Duration- 21 days training, which is basically inspired by Mahatma Gandhi’s Bharat Yatra.

The basic motto of this 8 weeks tour is to make the trainees familiar with public and private sectors undertaking:-

NGOs, armed services,


Urban bodies, and parliamentary proceedings. IAS officer training session generally starts in winter,

known as:- Winter Study Tour in Phase I training session.

All the IAS trainees around 90 will be grouped into 9-10 groups to travel across India. All IAS trainee cover different attachments along with a pre-designated itinerary. This is an excellent task under this All the different groups have to reach the same spot by opting the different routes. Usually,

Training session starts in the month of December and continues till February. through this training, all the trainees get to know about the Ecological, Historical and Cultural background of different zones of India.

Even the trainees will get to visit the different national institutions like RBI,


NGOs and also get know about the functioning of all the institutions.

Training Session 1

Through this training session Officer Trainee of the Indian Administrative Services get to know the wide variety of subjects so that they all can easily handle various assignments they would typically get in the first decade of their service period. It basically includes two modules: The Winter-Study Module
The Academic Module.

The academy module is basically a theme based training process. It covers all the subjects like:

Role of IAS in policy-making national security

Law and order,

Agriculture land management and administration of rural development

Decentralization and Panchayati Raj urban management

Infrastructure and public-private partnership e-governance

Office management.

Administrative skills soft skills,

Leadership skills,

Project management,

Engineering skills and ICIT financial management etc.

Duration of Phase 1 training:-  26 weeks.

District Training:- 

This is the most important part of the IAS training session. Through this training process, IAS trainees will get to know about the various facets of administration at the district level. The basic motive of this training session is to enable them to see, study and live the paradox that is essential in the country with the utmost challenges and opportunities. IAS officers basically study the administrative process of how the administration works and even interact with the people so that they all can get to know about the problems and challenges they have to face during their working period.

IAS Officers’ trainees have to do assignments for the academy which is based on the field’s study of various districts. The brief description of this training process is mentioned below:

  1. Attachment with Tehsil: 1 week
  2. Attachment with BDO: 1 week
  3. Attachment with Zilla Parishad: 2 Days
  4. Attachment with SDO: 1 week
  5. Attachment with Superintendent of Police: 2 Days
  6. Attachment with District Judge /CJM and other DLO’s: 2 Days
  7. Attachment with DRDA and Development Projects: 1 week
  8. Attachment with Police Station: 2 Days
  9. Attachment with Municipality: 2 Days
  10. Independent charge of BDO: 4 weeks
  11. Independent charge of Tehsildar: 4 weeks
  12. Settlement Training: 1 week
  13. Institutional Training at RIPA – Phase I: 3 weeks
  14. Institutional Training at RIPA – Phase II: 4 weeks
  15. Debriefing Sessions: 3 Days
  16. Independent charge Assistant Collector and Magistrate: 28 Weeks

Training session 2:- 

This phase will provide the IAS trainees a platform to share the individual learning experience they gained in the field. This will also provide them with the opportunity to find out the strengths and weaknesses of India’s administration and governance. This session includes:-

Interactive learning,

Special sessions,

Experts from outside the government. This training session provides tremendous learning before the officer’s trainees join their serving period.

After Training Process:- 

Completing the training session of 2 years the IAS trainees will be appointed as SDM which stands for Sub Divisional Magistrate,

Additional District Magistrate or

Sub Collector. Being SDM they are responsible for law and order,

General administration,

Revenue work and development work can be assigned to them.

In their next 3 Levels:-

Senior Scale, Junior Administrative Grade, and Selection, Grade will appoint as District Magistrate, Chief Development Officer, Director of a department, Managing Director of a Public Sector/ Senior officer in the State Secretariat.

and they could be a District Magistrate in their 5th year and remain a DM until the promotion to the Super Time Scale.

So, this was the whole training session an IAS officer has to go through. Well, as you all can see this was a quite interesting and challenging task as well. If you all have any doubt or need perfect navigation view for the excellent guidance then you all can comment below, and also some of the best training session links are mentioned below please go through them too.

Thank you!!


Tell us Your Queries, Suggestions and Feedback

Your email address will not be published.

« »